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Date of Hearing:  June 13, 2016 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION 

Jim Frazier, Chair 

SB 773 (Allen) – As Amended May 31, 2016 

SENATE VOTE:  40-0 

SUBJECT:  Vehicles:  registration fraud 

SUMMARY:  Requests the University of California (UC) to conduct a study on motor vehicle 

registration fraud.  Specifically, this bill:   

 

1) Makes legislative findings and declarations regarding vehicle registration fraud and the 

negative impacts associated with vehicle registration fraud. 

 

2) Requests UC to conduct a study on motor vehicle registration fraud. 

 

3) Provides that the study is to include, but not be limited to, identifying the magnitude of 

vehicle registration fraud, methods used by motorist to commit vehicle registration fraud, and 

the cost to the state and local governments in lost revenues, effects on air pollution, and 

recommended strategies for increasing compliance with registration requirements. 

 

4) Requires the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to enter into an agreement with UC to 

share vehicle registration information. 

 

5) Requires the Department of the California Highway Patrol (CHP) to share information 

related to efforts to combat registration fraud, including the California Help Eliminate All the 

Evasive Registration Scofflaws (CHEATERS) program. 

 

6) Requests UC to complete and post the study on its Internet Web site no later than January 1, 

2017. 

 

7) Requires DMV to post on its Internet Web site detailed instructions for motorists that 

describe how to prevent theft of vehicle registration tabs. 

 

EXISTING LAW: 

 

1) Prohibits a person from driving, moving, or parking a motor vehicle on the highway or in a 

public parking facility unless it is registered with DMV. 

 

2) Requires that a registration fee of $43 be paid to DMV for an initial vehicle registration or 

registration renewal to fund the operations of DMV and CHP related to enforcement of the 

statutes of the Vehicle Code. 

 

3) Requires all drivers and motor vehicle owners to carry evidence of financial responsibility.  

Further requires all insurance companies to report insurance status information to DMV for 

all private-use vehicles. 
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4) Authorizes DMV to suspend, cancel, or revoke the registration of a vehicle if DMV 

determines that insurance coverage has been cancelled, evidence of insurance coverage has 

not been submitted to DMV, or false insurance information has been submitted to DMV. 

 

5) Requires an owner to register their vehicle within 20 days of accepting employment or 

establishing residency in California or be subject to specified penalties. 

 

6) Establishes the Motor Vehicle Inspection Program, commonly referred to as the Smog Check 

Program, and requires vehicle owners to have their vehicles tested every two years, 

coinciding with renewal of vehicle registration, with certain exceptions provided. 

 

7) Establishes CHEATERS program, administered by CHP, allowing a person who identifies an 

out-of-state license plate to anonymously report to the vehicle to CHP. 

 

FISCAL EFFECT:  Unknown 

COMMENTS:  Vehicle registration fraud continues to be a significant public policy issue for 

states across the country.  States such as Iowa, New York, New Jersey, Illinois, and Wisconsin 

have attempted to crack down on vehicles illegally registered to avoid higher government fees 

and insurance premiums.  For example, the Iowa Department of Transportation recently canceled 

more than 450 vehicle titles and registrations obtained using false or fictitious information and 

operating in New York City.  Similarly, in California in 2014, using information provided 

through the CHEATERS hotline, CHP carried out an enforcement campaign targeting drivers 

with out-of-state license plates or expired license plate tags.  Through this enforcement 

campaign, the state was ultimately able to collect $1.9 million in unpaid registration fees. 

While the CHEATERS program allows motorists to voluntarily report vehicles with out-of-state 

license plates, the state currently lacks adequate data to determine the methods and magnitude of 

vehicle registration fraud within the state.  The Bay Area Air Quality Management District, the 

sponsor of this bill, notes that in addition to out-of-state vehicle fraud, motorists fail to register 

their vehicle or fail to renew registration because their vehicle cannot pass smog testing, 

resulting in unknown but likely deleterious effects on air quality.  Although some studies have 

indicated the number of unregistered vehicles operating in state is somewhere between 1%-8%, 

no official data exist of how many unregistered vehicles are currently operating on California 

roads that are associated with these illegal activities.  As a result, the lack of accurate data 

impedes the state's ability to assess the negative impacts associated with this illegal activity on 

air quality, state and local government revenues, and insurance premiums. 

With this bill, the author intends to allow the state to gather data on the scope and magnitude of 

vehicle registration fraud and the number operating unregistered vehicles within the state.  The 

author notes that this bill will enable the state to gain critical information related to unregistered 

cars and trucks, as well as policy recommendations on how best to remedy the situation.  In turn, 

the study will develop effective policy recommendations that will potentially lead to recouping 

millions of dollars in lost revenue that can be used for vital services such as CHP enforcement, 

removing abandoned vehicles, and transportation projects. 

Proposed author’s amendments:  Because this bill was introduced last year but not yet heard in 

this committee, the author proposes amending the bill in committee to the change the date that by 

which UC is requested to post a report of the study from January 1, 2017 to January 1, 2018 to 
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allow adequate time to complete the study.  The author also proposes amending the bill to 

change the sunset date of the bill’s provisions from January 1, 2020 to January 1, 2021, for the 

same reasons. 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

Bay Area Air Quality Management District (Sponsor) 

3M Company 

California Air Pollution Control Officers Association 

California Public Parking Association 

Metropolitan Transportation Commission 

Natural Resources Defense Council 

Valley Clean Air Now 

Opposition 

None on file 

Analysis Prepared by: Justin Behrens / TRANS. / (916) 319-2093 


