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Date of Hearing:  April 23, 2018 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION 

Jim Frazier, Chair 

AB 2107 (Reyes) – As Amended April 16, 2018 

SUBJECT:  New Motor Vehicle Board 

SUMMARY:  Removes the sunset clause on a provision granting the New Motor Vehicle Board 

(NMVB) the authority to hear protests by an association challenging the legality of an export 

policy of a manufacturer and recasts the relationship in existing law between new motor vehicle 

franchisors and franchisees.  Specifically, this bill:   

1) Allows NMVB to consider past franchisor (manufacturers), but not past franchisee 

(dealers), violations when hearing a protest by a dealer.  

2) Restricts any claims made pursuant to a violation of the existing law regarding franchisor-

franchisee relations to be commenced in California, with California law governing the 

claim, unless the claim is being brought in federal court.  

3) Prohibits a claim from being brought in state court if a claim has already been commenced 

with the NMVB, unless the claim is being brought in federal court.  

4) Establishes the following rules for manufacturers to compensate dealers for fulfilling 

warranty obligations:  

a) Requires manufacturers to set the parts and labor rates by accepting a rate calculated by 

the dealers by determining the total charges from qualified repair orders submitted and 

dividing that amount by the dealers total costs of the purchase of those parts. 

b) Requires dealers to submit to manufacturers either one hundred sequential qualified 

repair orders, or all qualified repair orders completed during any period of 90 

consecutive days prior to the date of submission, whichever is fewer.  

c) Defines a “qualified repair order” as a repair order, closed at the time of submission, for 

work that was performed outside of the period of the manufacturer’s warranty and paid 

for by the customer, but that would have been covered by the warranty if the work had 

been required and performed during the period of the warranty. 

d) Requires dealers to omit certain charges included in a repair orders, including: 

manufacturer, manufacturer branch, distributor, or distributor branch special events, 

specials or promotional discounts for retail customer repairs; parts sold, or repairs 

performed, at wholesale, among other things.  

e) Permits a manufacturer to contest the material accuracy of the dealer’s retail labor rate 

or retail parts rate that was calculated by the dealer within 30 days after receiving notice 

from the dealer.  
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f) Requires a manufacturer, if the dealer disagrees with the manufacturers contested rate, to 

pay the dealers rate until a decision is rendered by the NMVB, or a mutual resolution is 

made.  

 

g) Requires the retail labor rate and parts rate to take effect 30 days after the manufacturer 

receives the rate.  

 

h) Prohibits the manufacturer from taking any retaliatory or adverse actions because of the 

rates. 

 

i) Allows a dealer to petition NMVB for failing to accept the rates, and places the burden 

of proof on the manufacturer to show they did not violate the rate provisions.  

 

j) Allows NMVB to order the manufacturer to reimburse the franchisee for the difference 

between the amount the dealer actually received and the amount that the dealer would 

have received if the manufacturer compensated the dealer at the retail labor rate and 

retail parts. 

 

k) Defines “parts” to include, but not be limited to, engine, transmission and other part 

assemblies. 

 

l) Defines “warranty” to include certified preowned warranty, a technical service bulletin, 

a customer service campaign, and a federal recall.  

 

5) Places the following restrictions on manufacturers:  

  

a) Clarifies that it is unlawful for a manufacturer to refuse or fail to deliver in reasonable 

quantities and within a reasonable time a new vehicle sold or distributed by the 

manufacturer, a new vehicle or parts or accessories to new vehicles that are of a make or 

model offered by the manufacturer or distributor to other franchisees in the state of the 

same line-make.  

 

b) Prohibits a manufacturer from competing with a dealer in the same line-make operating 

under an agreement or franchise from a manufacturer or distributor in the state.  

 

c) Prohibits a manufacturer that is also operating as a franchisor, or an affiliate of a 

franchisor, from competing with any dealer by directly or indirectly offering vehicles for 

sale, lease, or subscription, or offering branded parts of the same line-make for sale, 

unless these vehicles or branded parts are offered exclusively by dealers, or unless they 

are acting as vehicle rentals regulated under the civil code.  

 

d) Prohibits a manufacturer from restricting a dealer to service any vehicle that was sold or 

leased by the franchisee as a new vehicle offered by the franchisor at the time the 

vehicle was sold or leased.  

 

e) Prohibits a manufacturer from requiring a dealer to perform service repair or warranty 

work on any vehicle model that is not currently or previously available to the franchisee 

for sale or lease as a new vehicle.  
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6) Removes a manufacturer’s right of first refusal for a transfer of a dealership and places the 

following restrictions on future franchise agreements: 

 

a) Removes the authority of a manufacturer to enforce a right of first refusal or option to 

purchase the dealer’s business. 

 

b) Removes the authority of a manufacturer to directly or indirectly condition the awarding 

of a franchise to a prospective new dealer, on the addition of a line-make or franchise to 

an existing dealer, the renewal of an existing dealer, the approval of the relocation of an 

existing motor vehicle dealership, the termination of the franchise, or the approval of the 

sale or transfer of the ownership of a franchise on the willingness of a dealer, proposed 

new dealer, or owner of an interest in the dealership premises to enter into a site control 

or exclusive use agreement.  

 

c) Defines “site control agreement” and “exclusive use agreement” to include an agreement 

that: 

 

i) Requires the dealer to establish or maintain exclusive dealership facilities. 

 

ii) Requires a “right of first refusal” clause.  

 

7) Defines “adverse action” to any activity that imposes, either expressly or implicitly, a 

burden, responsibility, or penalty on a dealer, including, but not limited to, any audits, 

withholding of incentives, or monetary chargebacks related to provisions protecting dealers 

from punitive measures taken to enforce a provision of existing law providing protections to 

dealers on exports; and removes the sunset clause for this provision.  

 

8) Prohibits a manufacturer from requiring a dealer to purchase signage at actual cost or restrict 

the dealer from erecting or maintaining signs from a specific vendor. 

 

9) Prohibits a manufacturer from requiring a facility alteration, expansion or addition if the 

facility has been modified within the last 10 years and the modification was required, or was 

made for the purposes of complying with a franchisor’s brand image program.  

10) Prohibits performance standards on the basis of the number of customer repair orders or 

ones that fail to take into account the brand or type of parts used in retail customer repair 

orders.  

11) Restricts manufacturers from requiring the advancement of money to participate in incentive 

programs.  

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Charges the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) with licensing and regulating 

dealers, manufacturers, and distributors of motor vehicles who conduct business in 

California.   

 

2) Establishes the NMVB within DMV, and requires it to hear and decide certain protests 

presented by a motor vehicle franchisee.   
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3) Prescribes procedures to be followed by franchisors, franchisees, and NMVB regarding 

claims for warranty reimbursement or incentive compensation.  Requires every manufacturer 

to fulfill every warranty agreement and adequately and fairly compensate each franchisee 

dealer for labor and parts used to fulfill the warranty.  A copy of the warranty reimbursement 

schedule or formula must be filed with NMVB, and the schedule or formula is required to be 

reasonable with respect to the time and compensation.  Requires all claims made by 

franchisees to be either approved or disapproved within 30 days after receipt by the 

franchiser.  When any claim is disapproved, the franchisee who submits it shall be notified in 

writing, and, each notice shall state the specific grounds upon which the disapproval is based.   

 

4) Makes it unlawful for a manufacturer or distributor to require, by contract or otherwise, a 

dealer to make a material alteration, expansion, or addition to any dealership facility, unless 

the required alteration, expansion, or addition is reasonable in light of all existing 

circumstances.  In any proceeding in which a required facility alteration, expansion, or 

addition is an issue, the manufacturer or distributor would have the burden of proving the 

reasonableness of the requirement.   

 

5) Prohibits a manufacturer from competing with a dealer in the same line-make operating 

under an agreement or franchise from a manufacturer or distributor in the relevant market 

area 

 

6) Establishes that manufacturers have a right of first refusal for the sale of a dealership if 

certain conditions are met.  

 

7) Provides that a vehicle manufacturer, manufacturer branch, distributor, or distributor branch 

cannot take any adverse action against a dealer relative to an export or sale-for-resale 

prohibition if the dealer causes the vehicle to be registered in a state and collects or causes to 

be collected any applicable sales or use tax due to the state.  These provisions are set to 

expire on January 1, 2019.  

 

8) Prohibits a manufacturer from establishing or maintaining a performance standard, sales 

objective or program for measuring a dealer’s sales, service or customer service performance 

that may materially affect the dealer, unless the manufacturer has laid out a standard that is 

reasonable in light of the market characteristics, availability and allocation of vehicles and 

parts inventory, economic circumstances, and historical sales. 

FISCAL EFFECT:  Unknown 

COMMENTS:   

Author’s Statement:  According to the author, “The sale and service of motor vehicles is 

important to California's economy.  California motor vehicle franchises employ over 140,000 

people and in 2017, motor vehicle sales and services resulted in over $121.1 billion in direct 

economic activity.  California motor vehicle franchises make up 13 percent of the total statewide 

sales tax revenue collected.  To ensure the orderly sales and service of new vehicles, California, 

like every other state, has enacted motor vehicle franchise laws.   
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In addition to preserving a well-organized and cost-effective distribution system of motor 

vehicles, franchise laws seek to address the disparity in bargaining power between multi-national 

auto manufacturers and California's local motor vehicle franchises that are primarily owned and 

operated as family businesses. 

By helping to ensure the fair and equitable treatment by auto manufacturers when interacting 

with their franchised dealers, AB 2107 seeks to address some of the most inappropriate treatment 

of dealers by manufacturers and finally provides parity for California dealers with regard to 

warranty reimbursement.”  

Primary Goals:  This bill recasts franchise agreements between dealers and manufacturers in 

several different ways.  The two biggest changes to the state’s franchise law include requiring 

warranty reimbursement rates to be based on the retail value of providing parts and labor and an 

anti-competition measure to ensure manufacturers cannot shift to a different business model that 

may undermine car dealerships.  The other changes in this bill are aimed toward protecting car 

dealerships from what they believe are unnecessary costs, including requirements to upgrade 

their facilities for image purposes.  Other provisions stem from how certain auto manufacturers 

have handled the creation of new brands.  Many of the provisions in this bill expand the authority 

of NMVB, and may very well result in significantly more protests being brought to the board.  

Some manufacturers have expressed an interest to continue to work with the dealers to address 

various issues in this bill, and have been able to work out many of these issues in other state’s 

franchise laws.  Other manufacturers have expressed to the committee an unwillingness to 

negotiate, and that this bill is far more expansive than any other franchise-related bill in recent 

memory and undoes previous negotiations.  This is the fifth bill since 2009 addressing the 

Automotive Franchise Law, and previous efforts have all generally ended with compromise.  

As a show of willingness to negotiate, the author took amendments on April 16, 2018, addressing 

several concerns of some of the opposition.  These amendments included the removal of a 

provision allowing NMVB to award triple damages in a protest brought for warranty 

reimbursements.  Further amendments are discussed below.  

Enhancing The Power Of NMVB:  NMVB is a board within the DMV with oversight provided 

by the California State Transportation Agency.  It was created in 1967 as the New Car Dealers 

Policy and Appeals Board, with functions limited to hearing appeals from final decisions which 

were adverse to the occupational license of a new motor vehicle dealer, manufacturer, distributor 

or representative.  After the passage of the Automobile Franchise Act in 1973, NMVB was given 

its current name and given quasi-judicial capacity to resolve disputes between franchised dealers 

and manufacturers of new motor vehicles.  The board consists of 9 members, four of which are 

required to be dealers.  

Right now the board has jurisdiction over franchise termination, new dealership locations, 

vehicle allocation, warranty reimbursement and incentive reimbursement.  This bill expands the 

power of NMVB in several ways.  The bill grants NMVB the authority to hear relevant alleged 

violations by a manufacturer of specific franchise laws.  The bill also grants NMVB the authority 

to hear protests over performance standards, manufacturer competition against dealers, and 

manufacturer discrimination amongst franchisees.  NMVB will be granted the ability to award 

damages in warranty, parts and labor rates disputes.  If a protest is made to NMVB, 

manufacturers will be restricted from filing claims in state court.  They can still appeal board 

decisions to the superior court.    
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The bill further requires any claim brought to originate in California. This change stems from a 

case currently being litigated in Tennessee by Nissan against three dealerships in West Covina.  

In that case the West Covina dealers asserted that NMVB had an exclusive right to handle 

franchisor-franchisee disputes.  The Tennessee court asserted California law granted them the 

authority to hear the case, as it grants a party the right to file a lawsuit in a court for common law 

and statutory claims.   

Further, unlike a claim brought in state court, many of the provisions in this bill reverse the 

ordinary jurisprudence of who has the burden of proof.  While in civil court a dealer bringing a 

claim against a manufacturer would have to prove the manufacturer violated the franchise 

agreement, a case brought before NMVB would place the burden on the manufacturers to show 

they did not violate the franchise agreement.  

CMTA contends this bill denies auto manufacturers due process by improperly favoring dealers 

and gives too much authority to a board that is mandated to have four of its nine members be 

dealers. 

Nickeled and Dimed:  The most substantive change this bill brings is creating a statutory scheme 

for how dealers should be reimbursed for labor and parts of warranty work and granting 

authority to the NMVB to enforce these provisions.  Currently, parts and labor rates for warranty 

reimbursements are generally set by manufacturers, and disputes about reimbursement rates are 

generally handled in state courts.  Existing law requires every manufacturer to fulfill every 

warranty agreement and adequately and fairly compensate each franchisee dealer for labor and 

parts used to fulfill the warranty.  The sponsors of this measure assert that they are unaware of 

any manufacturer actually adjusting their schedules to reflect the true retail rate.  

This bill reverses the existing power dynamic between dealers and manufacturers by allowing 

dealers to set the labor and parts rates through an established formula outlined in this bill.  Rates 

would be calculated by looking at either 100 sequential qualified repair orders, or all qualified 

repair orders completed during any period of 90 consecutive days prior to the date of submission. 

Dealers are granted permission to omit certain charges that they believe would artificially lower 

the retail labor and parts reimbursement because manufacturers would include non-warranty 

repairs in the calculation.  The Global Automakers, writing in opposition, contend that these 

omissions would result in higher warranty labor and parts reimbursements rates to the detriment 

of manufacturers and California consumers.  

The Global Automakers, while arguing that California’s current law requiring that manufacturers 

adequately and fairly compensate each of its franchisees for labor and parts used to fulfill 

warranty agreements is sufficient, they also recognize that if the legislature wants to specify how 

these rates are calculated they should be redrafted.  They contend that the section of the bill 

allowing omissions is vague and may artificially inflate a dealer’s warranty labor rate.  For 

reimbursements on warranty parts, they believe the calculation is incorrect and needs to be 

redrafted.  

The California Manufacturers and Technology Association (CMTA) are less nuanced. They 

argue that this bill, if enacted, “would prohibit manufacturers from validating that a dealer’s rates 

charged to consumers are fair and reasonable. It encourages dealers to increase consumer retail 

repair rates and prices to inflate compensation on warranty work from manufacturers. 

Additionally, AB 2107 utilizes fabricated and erroneous formulas and processes to calculate 
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warranty reimbursement rates, allowing dealers to manipulate data and significantly exaggerate 

rates.” 

The other major issue in this bill involving rates stems from how it would be enforced.  

Manufacturers are required to begin paying the labor and parts rate as calculated under this bill 

within 30 days.  Manufacturers are allowed to challenge this rate with NMVB, but the only 

challenge they can bring is for material accuracy.  Opponents contend they should be able to 

challenge the rates on other grounds as well.   

Until the issue is settled by the NMVB, manufacturers are required to pay the rate they are 

contesting.  If the manufacturer fails to do so, the dealer can protest the lack of payment with 

NMVB.  NMVB is then granted the authority to force the manufacturers to reimburse dealers for 

the difference between the amount the dealer received and the amount the dealer would have 

received if the manufacturer compensated them at the requested rate. 

While dealers can be awarded damages under this bill, there are no reverse provisions for 

manufacturers to be reimbursed if they have to pay rates NMVB later deems to be materially 

inaccurate. The opponents contend that damages should be determined by a civil court, not 

NMVB. 

Stay Out Of My Lane:  Dealers have contended that manufacturers have taken several steps to 

circumvent their franchises and are directly competing for the same customers.  In order to 

reduce this competition, they have proposed several changes to restore the franchise relationship 

between dealers and automobile manufacturers.   

Current law prohibits a manufacturer from competing with a dealer in the same line-make 

operating under an agreement or franchise from a manufacturer or distributor in the relevant 

market area.  This bill expands that provision to cover the entire state, and then restricts 

manufacturers from directly or indirectly offering vehicles or parts for sale, lease, or 

subscription, unless such vehicles are offered exclusively by franchisees.  

In particular, dealers are concerned about a new business model being rolled out by some 

manufacturers called vehicle subscription services.  These services provide an alternative to a 

lease or car ownership.  Instead of having any sort of ownership stake in a car, you pay a 

monthly fee to a manufacturer for access to several vehicle models in its lineup.  The fee covers 

the cost of insurance, maintenance and roadside assistance.  Users can order the vehicles through 

an app, and can swap vehicles out if they want to use a different type of vehicle. 

This bill would require subscription services to be offered only through dealerships.  Opponents 

contend that the section is overly broad, as it fails to define what was a subscription service is, 

and is concerned the bill could foreclose any number of potential business models that may 

change the way consumers use cars. CMTA believes that these provisions will stifle innovation 

and interfere with the ability of manufacturers by developing innovative new mobility products 

and services to adapt and evolve with a changing marketplace.  

The Genesis Of This Proposition:  Several of the provisions of this bill stem from a dispute 

between dealers and a new line of car, Genesis, formerly Hyundai Genesis.  Hyundai, seeking to 

break into the luxury car market, decided to spin off its Genesis car into a new brand of 

automobiles.  Manufacturers have told dealers that sold Hyundai Genesis cars that they can no 

longer service the cars they sold for warranty reimbursements.  Manufacturers are also 
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preventing dealers that sold Hyundai Genesis cars from selling the new Genesis brand.  Other 

dealerships are being told that even though they cannot sell the Genesis, they may still be 

required to service them for warranty reimbursements.  In response, this bill makes it unlawful 

for a manufacturer to refuse to deliver any new vehicles that are of a make or model offered by 

the manufacturer to other dealers in the state of the same line make.  Further, it would prohibit 

manufacturers from restricting a dealer from servicing any vehicle they sold or leased.  

Opponents state that they believe this section of this bill is overly broad and vague. 

That Special Shade Of Green-Gold Color:  Dealers contend that manufacturers too often require 

dealers to perform facility improvements on dealerships and require the purchase and use of 

goods or services from a specific vender for dealership signs.  They have contended that they are 

required to even lease these signs instead of purchasing them, increasing their own costs.  To 

address this issue, this bill restricts manufacturers from requiring a dealer to acquire signage at 

actual cost or restrict the ability of a dealer to erect or maintain signs from a specific vendor.  

Another requirement dealers have found unfair include requirements to update their facilities for 

brand imaging.  For example, manufacturers may come in and require hardwood floors for 

certain cars to highlight how luxurious they are.  This bill seeks to limit these requirements by 

deeming facility alterations, expansions, or additions as unreasonable if the facility has been 

modified in the last 10 years and the modifications were required or made for the purposes of 

complying with a manufacturers brand image program.  

Opponents contend that brand is important, and such signage restrictions and facility adjustments 

are established to make sure dealerships are properly advertising their brand.  After all, 

companies go to great lengths to protect their brand and trademarks, and every line and color in a 

logo is important to them.  Even a shade of color can be important, as evidenced in Qualitex Co. 

v. Jacobson Products Co., 514 U.S. 159 when the Supreme Court recognized Qualitex ability to 

trademark its special shade of green-gold color. 

One of the amendments taken on April 16, 2018, was to reduce the time limit for the 

modifications from 15 years to 10 years and to eliminate a dollar amount on the amount of 

modifications that would be considered reasonable. It is unclear, however, what effect 

eliminating the dollar amount would have, as the bill could be interpreted to essentially make any 

request for modification unreasonable if one request had already been made.  The Author has 

also clarified that modifications made for the purposes of enabling the sale or service of zero 

emission and near zero emission vehicles are not included in this provision. 

Location, Location, Location:  This bill prohibits manufacturers from making a site control 

agreement as a condition for purchasing or renewing a franchise.  In essence, this prohibits a 

manufacturer from having input on the location of where their product is sold.  Dealers have 

contended that these provisions have been used to stop dealers from relocating their businesses 

or making multi-dealership sales.  Manufacturers contend this prohibition limits their ability to 

control their brand.  

The Right To Refuse:  Current law allows manufacturers the right of first refusal in the purchase 

of their dealerships in limited circumstances.  They are allowed to block the sale of a dealership 

by purchasing the dealership for the offering price, and reimbursing the dealer for any expenses 

paid or incurred by the dealer in evaluating, investigating and negotiating the proposed transfer. 
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They cannot exercise this right if the proposed transferee is a family member of the owner of the 

dealership, nor a managerial employee owning 15% or more of the franchise.   

Dealers have contended that manufacturers have used this right to leverage both the selling 

dealer and the buying dealer, delaying the sale of the dealership, splitting dual dealerships, and 

eliminating a multi-dealership deal.  They argue some manufacturers force them to sign 

agreements restricting the dealer’s property such as the ability to relocate the dealership.   

To deal with these issues, dealers are proposing to eliminate a manufacturer’s ability to exercise 

the right of first refusal altogether, while still keeping intact the requirement that they give 

consent to the new dealer as a franchisee.  

Opponents contend the right of first refusal is extremely important market development right that 

allows manufacturers to select dealers who will provide the highest quality of service to 

California customers and who will promote the manufacturer’s brand, reputation, and image.  

Up To Standard:  Dealers are contending that manufacturer’s current performance and incentive 

programs are unfair.  Existing law makes it a violation for a manufacturer to establish or 

maintain a performance standard, sales objective or program for measuring a dealer’s sales, or 

service or customer service performance standard that may materially affect the dealer, unless 

the manufacturer has laid out a standard that is reasonable in light of the market characteristics, 

availability and allocation of vehicles and parts inventory, economic circumstances, and 

historical sales. 

Dealers contend these standards fail to take into account crucial differences in local market 

conditions and can lead to several negative consequences ranging from disqualification for 

incentives to franchise termination.  To address these issues, this bill would also prohibit  

performance standards on the basis of the number of customer repair orders or ones that fail to 

take into account the brand or type of parts used in retail customer repair orders.  It further 

restricts manufacturers from requiring the advancement of money to participate in incentive 

programs.  

Manufacturers contend that they must be able to review and consider a dealer’s repair orders to 

calculate any type of service performance standard, and that the proposed language is too vague 

and ambiguous.  

 Off Into The Sunset:  In 2015, the Legislature passed and Governor Brown signed AB 1178 

(Achadjian), Chapter 526, Statutes of 2015, which prevented manufacturers from taking adverse 

actions against a dealer relative to an export or sale for resale prohibition if the dealer registers 

the vehicle in the state and collects or causes to be collected any applicable sale or use tax due 

the state.  The legislature passed AB 1178 because of actions being taken against dealers who 

were being punished by manufacturers for individuals buying their cars and then trying to sell 

them on the international market.  This provision is set to sunset in 2019.  This bill removes the 

sunset, and based on some interpretation issues with the NMVB, more clearly defines an adverse 

action.  

Committee Amendments:  In light of the fact that some parties are still negotiating this bill, the 

committee recognizes that many of the provisions will change over the course of the legislative 

process.  However, there are several provisions in this bill that focus on areas that have been 

previously negotiated in past bills recasting the Automotive Franchise Law, while other 



AB 2107 

 Page  10 

provisions restrict the manufacturer from controlling their own trademark.  As such, the 

committee recommends the following amendments: 

1) Remove the provision that takes away an auto manufacturer’s right of refusal and require 

future franchise agreements to not include provisions that give them a right of first refusal. 

[These amendments would restore the original Vehicle Code Section 11713.3(t) and strike 

the new 11713.3(t)]  

2) Strike amendments made to 11713.13(c)1 that restricts a manufacturer from requiring a 

specific vendor for their signs.  Specifically, remove the following language: 

Notwithstanding the foregoing, a manufacturer, manufacturer branch, distributor, distributor 

branch, or affiliate may not restrict the ability of a dealer to acquire signage at actual cost or 

restrict the ability of a dealer to erect or maintain signs by requiring the use of any specific 

vendor. 

3) Strike the additional language placing restrictions on performance standards as outlined in 

11713(g)1(B)(C)(D), as the existing law on performance standards was negotiated in past 

legislation.  

4) The Global Automakers contend that data security is important and want a say in what 

vendor is used, but recognizes that the dealers should have a say.  The committee 

recommends striking 11713.13(h) and replacing it with “a dealer has the option to select a 

vendor chosen by a dealer and approved by a manufacturer for the provision of digital 

services.” 

Previous Legislation:  AB 1178 (Achadjian), Chapter 526, Statutes of 2015, provided that a 

vehicle manufacturer, manufacturer branch, distributor, or distributor branch cannot take any 

adverse action against a dealer relative to an export or sale-for-resale prohibition if the dealer 

causes the vehicle to be registered in a state and collects or causes to be collected any applicable 

sale or use tax due to the state, as specified. 

SB 155 (Padilla), Chapter  512, Statutes of 2013, modified the relationship between motor 

vehicle dealers and manufacturers by, among other things, making changes regarding the use of 

flat-rate time schedules for warranty reimbursement, warranty and incentive claims, audits, 

protest rights, export policies, performance standards, and facility improvements. 

SB 642 (Padilla), Chapter 342, Statutes of 2011, modified and expanded the existing statutory 

framework regulating the relationship between vehicle manufacturers and their franchised 

dealers. 

SB 424 (Padilla), Chapter 12, Statutes of 2009, regulates actions that vehicle manufacturers may 

take with regard to their franchised dealers, and allows franchisees that have contracts terminated 

because of a manufacturer’s or distributor’s bankruptcy to continue to sell new cars in their 

inventory for up to six months. 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

California New Car Dealers Association (Sponsor) 
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Opposition 

Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers 

California Manufacturers and Technology Association 

Global Automakers 

Technet 
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