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Date of Hearing:  April 18, 2016 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION 

Jim Frazier, Chair 

AB 1685 (Gomez) – As Amended April 11, 2016 

SUBJECT:  New motor vehicles:  emission standards:  civil penalties 

SUMMARY:  Updates civil penalties for violations of California Air Resources Board (ARB) 

regulations, orders, or rules, to bring penalty assessments into alignment with those of the United 

States Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA).  Specifically, this bill:   

1) Increases civil penalties for violations of certain air quality orders, rules, or regulations 

adopted by ARB from a maximum amount of $500 to a maximum of $37,500 per action and 

requires, for violations committed by a manufacturer or distributor, that payment of penalties 

be a condition for further sales by the manufacturer or distributor.  

2) Provides that violations involving portable fuel containers or small off-road engines remain 

subject to civil penalties of $500 per unit. 

3) Expands penalties for selling motor vehicles or engines in the state that do not meet ARB 

requirements to include businesses or persons who reside outside the state and includes 

activities such as advertising and introducing commerce into the state. 

4) Deletes provisions defining an established place of business as a place actually occupied 

either continuously or at regular periods in order to include internet-based businesses. 

5) Expands penalties from a maximum of $5,000 to $37,000 per action for violations of ARB 

regulations committed by a manufacturer or distributor and requires that payment of penalties 

be a condition to further motor vehicle sales by the manufacture or distributor in California. 

6) Increases from $5,000 to $37,500, per action, the penalty for any manufacturer who sells, as 

specified, any new motor vehicle that fails to meet applicable emissions standards.   

7) Authorizes ARB to order a manufacturer to bring its vehicles into emissions configuration to 

which they were certified and compliance with this requirement be a condition of further sale 

of motor vehicles in California. 

8) Authorizes ARB to adjust the maximum penalties for failure to comply with specified 

regulations for inflation based on the California Consumer Price Index without the 

requirement to go through rulemaking procedures. 

9) Makes related, clarifying amendments. 

EXISTING LAW:   

1) Requires that persons who violates any ARB order, rule, or regulation, where there is not a 

penalty described for the specific violation, shall be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed 

$500 per vehicle, portable fuel container, spout, engine, or other unit subject to regulation 

and that the penalty be collected by the State Treasurer and deposited into the Air Pollution 

Control Fund. 
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2) Provides that manufacturers or distributors who do not comply with emission standards or 

test procedures adopted by ARB may be subject to civil penalties of $50 per vehicle that is 

not in compliance and that no further sales of the vehicles can take place until the penalty is 

paid. 

3) Prohibits residents or businesses from importing, delivering, purchasing, renting, leasing, 

acquiring, or receiving a new motor vehicle or vehicle engine for use or resale in the state 

unless the engine has been certified compliant with ARB standards, as specified, with 

violations set at $5,000 per vehicle. 

4) Prohibits new vehicles from being sold in California that do not meet the emissions standard 

adopted by ARB. 

5) Provides penalties of $5,000 per action, for manufacturers who sell, attempt to sell, or offer 

for sale, a new vehicles that does not meet ARB emission standards. 

6) Requires that any manufacturer or distributor who fails to comply with ARB emissions 

standards or the test procedures adopted by ARB be subject to a civil penalty of $50 for each 

vehicle that does not comply with the standards or procedures, and that penalties must be 

paid as a condition of further sale by the manufacturer or distributor in California.  

7) Provides, pursuant to federal law, that violators be subject to civil penalties up to $37,500 per 

non-compliant vehicle or engine, $3,750 per tampering event or sale of defeat device, and 

$37,500 per day for reporting and recordkeeping violations.  

FISCAL EFFECT:  Unknown 

 

COMMENTS:  Both nationally and statewide, the transportation sector is known to be a major 

contributor of criteria pollutants and climate change emissions.  To address transportation sector 

emissions, both ARB and U.S. EPA regulations require that, prior to introducing a vehicle for 

sale, a manufacturer must demonstrate that the vehicle meets certain emissions standards.  In 

California, manufacturers must additionally demonstrate compliance with state air-quality 

standards and manufacturers who fail to comply are subject to civil penalties and other 

enforcement actions.  

 

As with the federal program, vehicles are not legal for sale in California until they are certified to 

be compliant with state emissions standards.  To be certified by ARB, a vehicle must 

demonstrate that its exhaust and emission-control systems are durable and comply with the 

emission standards for the vehicle's useful life.  This is done through durability and certification 

testing of the prototype certification vehicles.  

 

In California, an application for certification must be submitted to, and approved by, both the 

ARB and U.S. EPA concurrently.  ARB's In-Use Compliance Program aims to ensure that 

manufacturers' vehicles meet emissions standards throughout their useful lives.  The program 

obtains a limited sample of vehicles from a given test group or engine family and duplicates the 

manufacturers' vehicle emissions certification tests. 

 

On September 3, 2015, representatives of Volkswagen (VW) admitted to the U.S. EPA and ARB 

that a large number of their vehicle engines had been designed and manufactured with a “defeat 
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device” designated to bypass, or render inoperative, elements of the vehicles’ emissions control 

system.  As a result, these vehicles were able to pass emissions tests despite exceeding federal 

emissions standards by up to 40 times.  According to vehicle sales data, there are estimated to be 

617,000 of these vehicles nationally, 79,400 of which are in California. 

 

In a joint hearing entitled Volkswagen's "Defeat Device:" Update and Implications for California 

held by the Senate Transportation and Housing and Environmental Quality Committees on 

Tuesday March 8, 2016, the Legislature was updated with regard to how the defeat device was 

discovered, VW's admissions, ARB and U.S. EPA's actions, the status of federal litigation, and 

the overall effect of the issue on California's air quality, among other things.  In the background 

paper for the hearing, the Committees encouraged the Legislature to consider creating stronger 

penalties to discourage non-compliance by automobile manufacturers, particularly given that 

federal penalties are substantially higher and that penalties for non-compliance in California 

were set in the 1970 and have not been indexed to inflation.  The Committees suggested that 

existing ARB penalties do not provide sufficient deterrent, particularly for egregious actions to 

circumvent emissions requirements, such as in case of VW. 

 

To ensure that California's air quality laws and regulations are followed, and to better align fines 

with federal penalties, the author has introduced AB 1685 which would increase the maximum 

penalties for mobile source violations.  By increasing ARB's fines, the author believes that 

overall compliance will be improved.  Specifically, this bill would increase the maximum 

penalty for mobile source violations from $500 to $37,500, while retaining the current lower 

penalty amount for smaller, less egregious, violations and violations for lower-value equipment 

such as off-road engines and fuel containers.  Additionally, AB 1685 would modernize statutes 

to allow penalties to be extended to manufacturers outside of the state to better reflect modern 

business practices whereby vehicles are advertised and sold over the internet (from locations 

outside of California).  Lastly, this bill would allow ARB to periodically update mobile source 

penalties by indexing them to inflation thereby ensuring that penalties maintain their deterrent 

effect over time.  

 

Committee comments:  While increasing penalties will no doubt provide a deterrent to violating 

state air quality laws and regulations, increasing penalties from what are now $500-$5,000 to 

$37,500  could, if not judiciously applied, be overly punitive.  This concern, was highlighted by 

the Legislature with the passage of SB 1402 (Dutton), Chapter 413, Statutes of 2010, which 

required ARB to provide a written explanation prior to imposing administrative or civil penalties 

for a violation of air pollution laws and to make those explanations available to the public.   

 

In a report developed pursuant to SB 1402, ARB outlined its penalty policy explaining the 

process by which they work to consistently reach swift and fair resolution of violations.  In their 

report, ARB notes that to be fair, they take into account the specific circumstances for each 

enforcement case when reaching a penalty determination.  ARB also notes in the report, that 

while there is not a "mathematical formula" that is applied when calculating penalties, they do 

weigh individual circumstances, make comparisons between individual cases, and take into 

account individual circumstances.  ARB also provides that penalty determinations are designed 

specifically to prevent harm to the public and the environment and are tailored so as not to create 

undue financial hardship.   

 

ARB's Enforcement Penalty Policy also describes the process whereby ARB's Enforcement 

Division consistently engages regulated industries and business in developing, understanding, 
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and complying with regulations adopted by ARB.  This ensures that the regulated community is 

aware of and has the ability to comply with pertinent air quality and emissions-related laws and 

regulations. 

 

Related legislation:  ACR 112 (Hadley), thanks ARB for its exemplary work and tenacity in 

uncovering emissions control defeat devices on certain diesel-fueled VW motor vehicles.   

ACR 112 is scheduled to be heard in the Assembly Natural Resources Committee on  

May 2, 2016. 

 

Previous legislation:  SB 1402 (Dutton), Chapter 413, Statutes of 2010, required ARB to provide 

a specified written explanation prior to imposing an administrative or civil penalty for a violation 

of air pollution law, make these explanations available to the public, annually report specified 

administrative penalties imposed, and publish a penalty policy pertaining to vehicular air 

pollution control.  

 

AB 1085 (Mendoza), Chapter 384, Statutes of 2009, required the ARB to release all technical 

data that is used to develop regulations prior to the comment period of any proposed regulation. 

  

SB 163 (Johannessen), Chapter 966, Statutes of 1995, expanded ARB’s authority to assess and 

enforce administrative penalties by allowing them to adopt rules and regulations pertaining to 

fuel requirements and standards. 

 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

 

Support 

American Lung Association in California 

Bay Area Air Quality Management District 

Breathe California 

Clean Power Campaign 

Coalition for Clean Air 

Natural Resources Defense Council 

Sierra Club California 

Opposition 

None on file 

Analysis Prepared by: Victoria Alvarez / TRANS. / (916) 319-2093 


