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Date of Hearing:  March 14, 2016 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION 

Jim Frazier, Chair 

AB 1752 (Melendez) – As Amended March 10, 2016 

SUBJECT:  Vehicles:  registration fees 

SUMMARY:  Requires the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to clearly identify the base 

vehicle registration fee as a separate and distinct line item on the vehicle registration renewal 

notice.  Requires DMV to post on its web site a clear description of each additional fee or 

surcharge added to the base registration fee, including the statutory authority for that fee or 

surcharge, and requires DMV to provide the address to this website with each application. 

EXISTING LAW:   

 

1) Prohibits a person from driving, moving, or leaving a vehicle or trailer on a highway or in an 

off-street parking facility unless it is registered with DMV. 

 

2) Requires that a registration fee of $43 be paid to the DMV for an initial vehicle registration 

or registration renewal. 

 

3) Adds an additional $3 to the above fee to be deposited in the Alternative and Renewable Fuel 

and Vehicle Technology Fund and the Enhanced Fleet Modernization Subaccount. 

 

4) Requires an additional registration fee, adjusted annually based on the California Consumer 

Price Index (CPI), be paid to DMV on behalf of the Department of the California Highway 

Patrol (CHP) at the time of vehicle registration or renewal. 

 

5) Authorizes the collection of certain other fees and surcharges at the time of vehicle 

registration or renewal to support a variety of state and local programs. 

 

FISCAL EFFECT:  Unknown 

COMMENTS:  State law directs DMV to collect vehicle registration fees along with other fees 

such as commercial motor vehicle weight fees, license fees, and license plate fees when the 

vehicle is first registered and annually thereafter.  In addition, DMV may be directed to collect 

locally-imposed fees and surcharges that fund variety of programs such as law enforcement 

efforts and air pollution abatement. 

 

When a vehicle registration renewal notice is issued by DMV, the fees that are being charged are 

prominently displayed and listed by category under the heading of “fees” with a distinct sum 

total due to the department and the date of required payment clearly identified at the bottom in 

bold type.  Where there are a several fees in a given category – for example if a local jurisdiction 

has assessed a number of law enforcement-related fees – the fees are shown totaled by category. 

The current vehicle registration fee is set in statute at $43.  This fee goes primarily to the Motor 

Vehicle Account to support the state’s administration and enforcement of laws regulating the 

operation and registration of vehicles used on public streets and highways.  AB 8 (Perea), 

Chapter 401, Statutes of 2013, added an additional $3 to this fee, $2 of which go to the 
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Alternative and Renewable Fuel and Vehicle Technology Fund for the purpose of developing 

and deploying technology and alternative and renewable fuels in the marketplace, and $1 that 

goes to the Enhanced Fleet Modernization Subaccount for the purpose of allowing for the 

voluntary retirement of passenger vehicles and light-duty and medium-duty trucks that are high 

polluters. 

 

Existing law also directs DMV to collect a fee at the time of registration or renewal on behalf of 

CHP to carry out duties related to enforcing the Vehicle Code.  This fee is indexed to the CPI, 

and is currently set at $24.  The current line item on DMV’s registration renewal notices titled 

“Registration Fee” displays a total cost of $70, which includes the $43 dollar fee established in 

statute, plus the $3 fee established by AB 8, plus this $24 CHP fee. 

 

For a local fee to be collected by DMV, there must be statutory authority to do so.  This authority 

typically requires the local jurisdiction to pass an ordinance or resolution directing the collection 

of the fee.  Once fee collection is in place, local jurisdictions are required to account for the 

monies collected and expended.  These local fees collected at the time of registration or renewal 

are aggregated and listed separately on the DMV notice under the item titled “County/District 

Fees.” 

 

Because several fees are combined on the DMV registration renewal notice, the author contends 

that these notices lack transparency with regard to what fees are being collected by DMV over 

and above the base registration fee set in statute.  To address this, the bill would require DMV to 

clearly identify the fee set in statute for the purpose of funding the operations of DMV as the 

“base registration fee” on the renewal notice. 

 

According to the author, “Most people do not know about the programs they are funding through 

the vehicle registration process,” including the programs funded by the AB 8 fees and the CHP 

fee.  By requiring DMV to separately list these additional fees in a separate line item to provide 

information on its website about the nature of these fees and their statutory authority, the author 

seeks to enhance the transparency of the vehicle registration process.  This bill does not require 

each portion of the fees currently collected as the “registration fee” to be separately listed on the 

renewal notice, likely reducing the additional administrative costs incurred by DMV associated 

with printing renewal notices pursuant to this new requirement. 

 

DMV already displays a website address and toll-free telephone number on the renewal notices 

providing access to additional information to customers.  The new requirement for a website 

displaying the description and statutory authority for registration fees could likely be adapted 

from the existing information DMV already provides. 

 

Previous legislation:  AB 1998 (Grove) of 2014, would have required the DMV to fully identify 

each fee and surcharge on applications for initial vehicle registration and registration renewal as 

a separate and distinct line item with the corresponding statutory authority for that fee.  AB 1998 

was held in this committee at the request of the author. 

 

AB 8 (Perea), Chapter 401, Statutes of 2013, increased the vehicle registration fee set in statute 

by $3 for the purpose of funding specific environmental programs. 
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REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION: 

Support 

Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association 

United Californians for Tax Reform 

Opposition 

None on file 

Analysis Prepared by: Justin Behrens / TRANS. / (916) 319-2093 


