Date of Hearing: April 3, 2017

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION Jim Frazier, Chair AB 1027 (Acosta) – As Amended March 21, 2017

SUBJECT: Driver's licenses: examinations: motorcycle licenses

SUMMARY: Authorizes the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to accept a certificate of satisfactory completion of any motorcyclist training program approved by the California Highway Patrol (CHP) in lieu of a driving test for applicants applying for a motorcycle license, and specifies that a person under 21 years of age must show proof of completion of a novice motorcycle safety training program administered by CHP before receiving a motorcycle license.

EXISTING LAW:

- 1) Authorizes DMV to accept a certificate of satisfactory completion of a novice motorcyclist training program approved by the CHP in lieu of a driving test for applicants applying for a motorcycle license.
- 2) Authorizes CHP to adopt standards for a novice motorcycle rider training course and a premier motorcyclist training program, as specified.
- 3) Requires a person under 21 years of age to show proof of completion of a motorcyclist safety training program administered by CHP before receiving a motorcycle license.

FISCAL EFFECT: Unknown

COMMENTS: Under existing law, the CHP administers the California Motorcyclist Safety Program (CMSP). The program includes two courses: the Motorcyclist Training Course, a basic course consisting of 5 hours of classroom instruction and 10 hours of actual riding that is mandatory for persons under the age of 21 and recommended for others seeking a motorcycle endorsement; and the optional Premier Program consisting of 7.5 hours of classroom instruction and 13.5 hours of riding. According to the CHP, over 950,000 motorcycle riders have participated in the CMSP since 1987. When applying for a motorcycle license, an applicant may show proof of completion of the Motorcyclist Training Course to waive the driving test otherwise required of applicants.

This bill would authorize DMV to accept a certificate of completion of any program offered under the CMSP to waive the driving test requirement. A person under 21 would still be required to complete the Motorcyclist Training Course to receive a license.

According to the author, this bill would give experienced motorcyclists the opportunity to take a course better suited to their skill level to waive of the motorcycle driving test, instead of taking the novice-level course that can take three days to complete.

For riders who have experience operating vehicles similar to motorcycles or have had motorcycle riding experience in the past, and are applying for a motorcycle license, the ability to waive a driving test by taking an advanced level course may make that class more appealing. Those applicants would then be able to waive their DMV driving test, reducing the need for the department to take time to conduct those tests in field offices. Because CHP would still retain control over all standards and curricula of the programs administered under the CMSP that would issue the certificates allowing an applicant to waive the driving test, applicants completing a CMSP program would still be required to learn rules of the road, how to interact with other forms of motor vehicle traffic, and other key safety skills, which they might not otherwise learn if they did not take a class at all.

Previous legislation: AB 1932 (Obernolte), Chapter 561, Statutes of 2016, authorized a motorcyclist safety training program that is licensed by DMV as a traffic violator school to administer a motorcyclist training course that includes instruction specific to the safe and lawful operation of motorcycles.

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION:

Support

American Brotherhood Aimed Towards Education of California American Motorcyclist Association California Motorcycle Dealers Association Liberty Mutual Insurance 2 private citizens

Opposition

None on file

Analysis Prepared by: Justin Behrens / TRANS. /